in the valley of darkness

in the shadows of the night

rising from the ashes of humanity

he lives for honor

THE REALM OF THE ROGUE MARINE

Recent

Older

Alt Entries

Sign/View

Notes

Email

Honors

Profile

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
2002-07-05 / 1:58 a.m.
All Work

Greetings,

Hope everyone's having a nice 4th of July. I know that at least I'm enjoying mine despite the fact that I've been denied the ability to demolish a few buildings...I mean, detonate a few low-yield explosives.

For the last three days, I've been working on the laptop. Yes, it finally came on Tuesday, but there was more for me to do to it than I thought. First off, Chuck, the guy I bought it from, told me that there was a problem with the operating system. From what I understood, he tried upgrading the OS from Windows ME to XP, but he didn't use an upgrade disc. What I found out was that the system was reporting that there was no OS on it at all.

So then it took me two hours to install my version of ME and get it set up. Then, while I was installing more software, I noticed that for some reason, there was still two partitons on the drive. Oh well. I continued my work, and then I noticed that the genius did indeed include the recovery disc. So I popped it in, and found out that the disk is worse than useless, containing only two files. It wasn't even set up so that a user could boot from it.

I poked around on the second drive, and found a bunch of what appeared to be compressed files that would be use in conjunction with a system restore. Oh well. I wound up reformatting the C: drive, but I left the second partition there. Maybe I'll find a use for that junk there down the road.

That was only the start of a two-day journey that required me to guess on Compaq's website as to which drivers were the correct ones for this model computer and perhiperals. I think I've got them all set right, but it's more than a minor annoyance.

I installed most of my games on it as well. Half-Life, as of right now, has trouble running my copy of Counter-Strike, something about not being able to load the Client.DLL file. Now that it's ready to use the cable modem, I'll connect it up to it tonight and download an update for my Half-Life executable. I hope that fixes it, because I've already tried uninstalling and then reinstalling first CS, and then Half-Life.

It also came with two rechargable Li-on batteries. Problem is, both are only good for around 15 minutes. Even when fully charged. I called Staples today and asked the guy there if they sold laptop batteries. The dumbass proceeded to tell me that they never sold laptop batteries. I was half-tempted to call him a bold-faced liar. I also asked him if they sold hubs. He asked me what kind of hubs. I had to explain to him how networking hubs are the only types of hubs that are commonly sold in the PC market, to which he quickly quoted me a price of $50. I told all this to my friend Melissa at work, and she told me to either get the stuff online or go to a Best Buy store. I think I might get them online since I can at least use the batteries for an emergency power source to save my work.

This computer came with a CD burner drive and a DVD drive as well. I, fortunately, had the disc that had the software that let me burn CDs on the burner drive, but again, it's useless without the right drivers. I got the right drivers for the burner it looks like, but the software package for the DVD drive seemed to have installed two DVD playing software packages, and the two programs constantly fight each other to play my DVDs. I'm starting to feel a little appreciated knowing that at least something is fighting to keep me pleased. Anyways, I'm still working on it, but it should be easy to fix. Later. I'm waiting for the mud-wrestling finals first.

I've also started trying to get the two computers that we now have networked, but I can't seem to get the two computers to talk to each other, even when I directly connect the two of them together. Oh well. I think it's time that I cave in and buy software from Novell and start studying for like a Server+ exam.

That's enough about the computer for now. The hospital sent me a courtesy letter yesterday, saying that insurance was going to pay what they were going to, and that we'd owe them shortly for when I had taken Nicki in there during the Ovarian Cyst Crisis. Problem is, they said I'd owe a helluva lot less than what I had calculated based on the statements that I got back from insurance. As it is, I'm waiting for follow-up courtesy letters, but I can hope, can't I?

Work today was soooooo dead. Then again, it's the 4th, and all the good boys and girls are supposed to be outside blowing their fingers off with illegal items that could easily be transformed into frag grenades. While Nicki and I were heading in to work today, I mentioned to her that no one would probably think anything of it if I went outside, and fired off all of my 9mm rounds. With the amount of explosions that I was hearing today, I think it would have been a safe bet too.

Anyways, the last three days have been kinda busy. I've been packing the laptop with me to work so that I could work on it in between calls, and no one's raised hell about it. Actually, Will and I last night were watching my collection of Celebrity Deathmatch videos. It was sweet.

Time is short and talk is cheap. We shall speak again.

Previous / Next

Personal Log, 25 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-25
Personal Log, 24 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-24
Personal Log, 23 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-23
Personal Log, 22 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-22
Personal Log, 21 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-21

Site Meter

Please keep in mind that by viewing this site, you are bound by the Terms Of Viewing

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

POW/MIA

The Wall

Mgs2 Notes

Quotes

Memorial

Nicki BMT Updates

Linking

Diaryland