in the valley of darkness

in the shadows of the night

rising from the ashes of humanity

he lives for honor

THE REALM OF THE ROGUE MARINE

Recent

Older

Alt Entries

Sign/View

Notes

Email

Honors

Profile

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
2002-06-30 / 10:48 p.m.
Return

Greetings,

Well, I think I�ve finally returned now. It�s been quite sometime since I�ve written, but things are finally settling down. I know that there have been plenty of readers who�ve been waiting for this day, well, it�s here so sit down. For now, at least, I don�t think I�ll be updating daily, more like every other day, but in exchange they should be long entries.

For now, I�ve still don�t have time for Rogue Reviews yet. Hopefully this week the situation will change, and I�ll discuss it later. I think I�ll just fill you all as to what�s been going on.

First off, my wife Nicki had an ovarian cyst that burst. Right now it�s all said and done, she�s doing well, and that was a trip. She wrote a lot about it I know, but it�s been too long for me to remember much else besides all the time I had to stay at the hospital. However, I�m still fighting to get the three days that I was gone excused from work. They keep on coming back saying that they need to know why it was that I, personally, needed to be gone. Well gee, let�s review this situation here. Day one: Nicki complains of major abdominal pain, and the doc�s not sure why, but he�s not ruling out an appendicitis. Day two and three are the same, except that it wasn�t until day three that we found out what it was. I�m still fighting them almost three weeks after the fact.

This, combined with the fact that I lost out on a promotion due to these absences, have left me convinced to focus all me time and effort to completing my studies to become a computer technician. My first obstacle will be passing a test called A+. It�s a test put out by CompTIA, and is a highly regarded test. I�ve gotten my hands on some practice test, and I�m passing now. It�s 60 questions, and you get 60 minutes to answer them all, and you score x amount of points out of a possible 1000. I�m scoring 850. The test quizzes you on maintenance, networking, troubleshooting, upgrading, etc. Just about anything to do with a PC, no matter how small or insignificant, is on that test.

Now that I�m passing the tests, without notes even, I think that I�m ready to take the Big Test. It costs $132 per shot, and I only want to do it once. I still haven�t gotten the hospital bill from Nicki�s trips there, and I don�t know how much insurance is exactly going to cover.

I�ve been getting back into target shooting as well. I�m re-learning how to shoot with my Ruger P89, but that�s too easy. Heck, I�ve finally learned how to strip it apart and clean it. First time I did that I used up all my gun cleaning supplies, but damn did that pistol need it. I think my brother Matt�s wife Jen, when she had it, never took very good care of it at all. My friend Will tells me that nowadays I have a tendency to put too much oil in it, but of well. Cycle two or three rounds through it and it�ll burn through it.

I�ve also been shooting my M1 Carbine. All I can say is wow. That rifle is soooo accurate. Didn�t even have to sight it in. Too bad that I�m going to have the action worked on by a gunsmith. It�ll fire some of the older rounds that I have, but it will not fire one single new round for it that I�ve bought. Which pisses me off to no end. It�s even more crazy to think that my friend Rico, who�s never touched a firearm in his life before meeting me, is now an avid shooter himself. Too bad that, despite the number of wide open spaces here in Montana, there�s no real place someone can go shooting without running into trouble. First time out, we had the Highway Patrol come chase us off some lady�s land. They didn�t cite us or anything because someone else had taken down the �No Trespassing� signs that had been there. Second time around it was just not a place to shoot during bad weather (my favorite type of shooting weather). My dad was telling me that someone is planning on opening a pistol, rifle, and shotgun shooting range just outside of town. Which will be nice. If it�s true.

Okay. Now let�s move on to this past weekend. Nicki and I had plans at first to spend the weekend together (and that�s as far as I�m going to go on that one), but she hooked up with her friend Emily and took off on Saturday around 11 A.M. My dad and I went out looking for them around 7 when they showed back up. Nicki and I, needless to say, had a nice chat about communication. Anyways, today Nicki volunteered to help move Emily into her new apartment. At least now she�s telling me where�s she�s going.

I really was hoping to spend time with her this weekend, but ugh. I�ll try again next weekend.

On a positive note, Nicki�s friend Charles sold his 1 � year old laptop to us for $700. We should get it either tomorrow or Tuesday, after which it�ll be up to the Rogue Marine to fix the hard drive because Chuck tried to upgrade to OS from Windows ME to Windows XP with an XP disk that is not designed to upgrade the current OS to XP. Which means I�ll be spending the next two or three days getting it ready to work so that Nicki can stop bugging me about �Chris, when can I take it to work? I�m so bored�. Ugggh�.It�s a sad life for me.

Time is short and talk is cheap. We shall speak again.

Previous / Next

Personal Log, 25 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-25
Personal Log, 24 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-24
Personal Log, 23 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-23
Personal Log, 22 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-22
Personal Log, 21 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-21

Site Meter

Please keep in mind that by viewing this site, you are bound by the Terms Of Viewing

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

POW/MIA

The Wall

Mgs2 Notes

Quotes

Memorial

Nicki BMT Updates

Linking

Diaryland