in the valley of darkness

in the shadows of the night

rising from the ashes of humanity

he lives for honor

THE REALM OF THE ROGUE MARINE

Recent

Older

Alt Entries

Sign/View

Notes

Email

Honors

Profile

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
2004-04-08 / 11:59 p.m.
Personal Log, 8 Apr 2004

Report filed later than dated due to a lack of time to file it beforehand

Greetings,

Well, today was something. It started out late, and ended late. I�m just glad that tonight I will get some time to sleep a little bit more than 4 � hours, as my muscles sure could use it.

This morning I work up around 0640, which is pretty late for someone like me who usually tries to get up around 0600. I needed a shower badly, as I haven�t had time to catch one for a couple of days, so I got into the shower and was ready to go to by about 0710. My email didn�t have anything too important, but when I sat down to check it out, I got so tired so fast. I knew that today would be a mentally difficult one because of that. After I checked email, I filled up my usual three water bottles and headed out for work.

I work for a company named National Electronics Warranty. They�re a warranty service provider that administers warranty contracts for several companies. If anyone purchases the PSP plan at a Best Buy location, or signs up for the Protection Plan for their DirecTV service, my employer administers their plans. I�m a phone jockey for the Protection Plan, and have been so now for nearly two years. My technical knowledge of DTV systems and troubleshooting is surpassed by few, including my knowledge of TiVo and Hi-Definition systems, but I couldn�t seem to tap much of it this morning. That, in of itself is odd, because I�m one of the few people there who will �break� their DTV systems just to learn how to fix it, and will take some of my free time to research the systems that we deal with every day. In fact, I�ve developed an entirely new training course dealing exclusively with TiVo systems. When I got in, I had my usual two cold pop tarts and some water, but it didn�t seem to help me. I was dead tired and dead hungry. Call volume was �light� for us today, which means that there were only about 1-10 people at any time holding, or waiting to speak with a rep such as myself. The morning shift went my reasonably fast, but the night shift dredged on and on. By the time 2030 rolled around, I was downright tired and sleepy. I got a call then from a 61-year-old lady who needed help setting up a favorite channels list.

With all the channels available with satellite tv, there are some channels that no one wants to watch or see in their program guides. A favorite channels list will remove channels that a customer doesn�t like, subscribe, or want to watch so that their guides will show only what they want to see. Anyways, I spent an hour and forty minutes walking her through it step by step, and during some of the lull periods on that call, we talked. She told me about how she knows some of the families of the people who are dying over in Iraq, and how looking back on her life she kinda wished she had pursued some time in the military. I told her about Nicki and her situation as well. When we were done with setting her system up, she told me that she�ll pray for another guardian angel for Nicki. I almost cried, to be honest.

Workouts today were brief. I did my normal leg workouts, but the facility was really busy. Because of that, I couldn�t find a place to do my running, sit-ups or push-ups. I�ll make up for them tomorrow. I was kind of sad when I got home and there wasn�t any new mail from Nicki. I�m doing well now, but initially I was sad. I�m really concerned about how she�s doing especially with all that�s happen this week.

Previous / Next

Personal Log, 25 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-25
Personal Log, 24 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-24
Personal Log, 23 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-23
Personal Log, 22 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-22
Personal Log, 21 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-21

Site Meter

Please keep in mind that by viewing this site, you are bound by the Terms Of Viewing

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

POW/MIA

The Wall

Mgs2 Notes

Quotes

Memorial

Nicki BMT Updates

Linking

Diaryland