in the valley of darkness

in the shadows of the night

rising from the ashes of humanity

he lives for honor

THE REALM OF THE ROGUE MARINE

Recent

Older

Alt Entries

Sign/View

Notes

Email

Honors

Profile

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
2002-01-27 / 11:37 p.m.
A One-Year Anniversary

Greetings,

I purposely chose that passage of my future book for posting. I'm still getting rumbles about my debate with Doug, and I wish people would seriously drop it. It's a dead issue.

The last few days, my town has been blanketed with snow and sub-zero temperature. It was odd, since on Friday it was kinda warm, and the skies were clear. I woke up Saturday, and found the streets flooded with snow, and the temperatures near zero degrees. It was also funny when I went outside around two in the afternoon to warm the car up. I spent around ten minutes wiping off all the snow, and it was still coming down. I went back inside to get my stuff, and emerged ten minutes later to blue skies and the sun on my face. I swear God's trying to play mind games with me.

Driving around here with snow on the ground is horrible. People seem to forget that motorized vehicles need to be driven differently on snowy road than dry weather, or for that matter any kind of weather. I think it was about two weeks ago, there was a major wreck out on the highway outside of town. A wind gust kicked up a lot dust, and reduced visibility to a few feet. A local news crew were heading out to a nearby town, and wound up sandwiched between two different semi-tractor trailer rigs because one of the drivers didn't slow down due to weather conditions. The three-men news team and their vehicle were crushed into an odd shape that was about the size of a refrigerator. I hope they didn't suffer, honestly.

Speaking of stupid truck drivers, today is the one-year anniversary of Nicki arriving in Great Falls. One year ago today, Rico, myself, and my sister Sara headed out to Lake Steves, Washington, to move Nicki down here. The incident was not with suprises, though. The plan was to drive to Nicki's house in my parent's van, and drive back with the van and Nicki's car. The actual move went without a hitch, but on the way back there was a problem. We were driving outside of Spokanne on the highway, and there was a shit-load of snow all around us. Nicki and I were in our car, with the van behind us, since we had the maps and stuff in our vehicle.

I looked forward and saw a vehicle that was in a little ditch between the two lanes, and there were no cars ahead of me. I turned my head slightly to mention it to Nicki, who I think was dozing off at the time. I looked forward again, and there was this snow-white cadillac in front of me. We swerved to dodge the impending crash, and were sucessful in doing so. However, Rico was driving the van, which handles much more differently that a car. He swerved as well, but the van started spinning out. Nicki was watching the whole thing, and I caught as much of it as I could in the rear-view mirror as I could. I think the van tried to roll, but for some reason, it didn't. We also had good-quality radios with us, and Nicki called to them. Sara answered the call, and said that she and Rico were okay, and that the van had stalled in the aftermath. We pulled out at the nearby exit, and met up at the gas station there. Sara had been sleeping up until that point, but never did again for the remainder of the trip. In fact, she drove the rest of the way home. I swear, I'm not making that up.

Rico and I also came up with a little joke. Since our point car had the maps, we were responsible for getting us pointed in the right direction home. I'd call out the directions on the radio, and Rico would swifty reply with a quote from Star Wars: "Stay on target." We played that game for a while, with me replying "We're too close!" or "Loosen up!" I regretted mentioning that last one the first time, since he came back with a smart remark about Sara. She prompty slapped him, by the way.

I've been spending the past couple of days doing research on weapons and helicopters for my book. I found the official page for the Kalashnikov company in Russia, the makers of the AK-47. I found a good picture for a weapon that I'm using in my book, the AK-103. For those of you who are familiar with the AKS-74U in Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, I found information on that as well. There's different pages for info on the two models I found, which you can click here or here for. Neat, huh? I showed those pictures to my friend Teri, and she and I wanna go play with the -103s. Sveet. I also found some information on the Russian Mi-28 A/N, and the history of the U.S.' prize attack chopper, the AH-64 Apache. I found out that the Apaches are now being made by Boeing, instead of McDonnell-Douglas. Cool. I also discovered that the engines on the chopper were made by GE, which I get A LOT of calls about faulty refrigerators made by them. No wonder our planes and choppers are crashing left and right.

Anyways, I'm writing this entry at work, and it's time to go home.

Time is short and talk is cheap. We shall speak again.

Previous / Next

Personal Log, 25 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-25
Personal Log, 24 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-24
Personal Log, 23 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-23
Personal Log, 22 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-22
Personal Log, 21 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-21

Site Meter

Please keep in mind that by viewing this site, you are bound by the Terms Of Viewing

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

POW/MIA

The Wall

Mgs2 Notes

Quotes

Memorial

Nicki BMT Updates

Linking

Diaryland