in the valley of darkness

in the shadows of the night

rising from the ashes of humanity

he lives for honor

THE REALM OF THE ROGUE MARINE

Recent

Older

Alt Entries

Sign/View

Notes

Email

Honors

Profile

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
2002-02-19 / 11:52 p.m.
Strange Junk Mail

Greetings,

Well, the interent crashed on me again this morning. It was down for about 45 minutes, most of which I spent talking with an AT&T rep. We set up an appointment for a tech to come out between 12-4 on Wednesday. Naturally, about fifteen minutes after hanging up with the rep, it starts working. And stays connected. Ugh. I didn't cancel the appointment in case the net goes down between now and tomorrow morning.

Witchy decided to become Rogue Two for Rogue Reviews for sure now. I appreciate the commitment on her part, considering all that's going on in her life. She and I will probably make a layout for the site within the next two weeks. Evangeline is also hoping to be a reviewer for Rogue Reviews as well. Since I just got introduced to her by Hipkat23, I asked her to complete a sample review of this site so I can see how well she reviews. I'm not just checking points, I'm checking technique. Does she offer praise as well as criticism? Does she get reviews done in a timely manner? These are all factors that I consider. Heck, we even have "vicitms" lining up for reviews.

I got an interesting little "junk" email in my box this evening. It opens like this, and I quote:

    "You have been selected as a potential candidate for a free listing in the 2002 Edition of the International Executive Guild Registry," and "Since inclusion can be considered recognition of your career position and professionalism, each candidate is evaluated in keeping with high standards of individual achievement. In light of this, the International Executive Guild thinks that you may make an interesting biographical subject."

Okay, sure. We can obviously tell who doesn't read my diary, but I'd LOVE to be considered to be a corporate executive. As I ate dinner tonight, I imagined this phone call:

    Caller: We'd like you to head the General Electric corporation.
    Rogue: Oh really? Can I put all my leggos on my desk?

    Caller: Umm...of course you would be able to. You'd be the boss.
    Rogue: Awesome! Party on Wayne! Party on Garth!

    Caller: Uhhh...sir? Are you feeling alright?
    Rogue: Of course I am. Show me to my throne so I can ruthlessly rule over the legions of peasants. I will rule like a dictatorship and be praised for my 'innovative personnel management practices'.

    Caller: Really? Wow! That could get you listed in Forbes magazine!
    Rogue: *purrs, and then purrs some more*

    Caller: Wait a minute....is that..you, Catbert? The evil director of Human Resources?!?
    Rogue: Awe, fuck...I mean, uh no. I was petting my pet cat Garfield.

    Caller: But you accused Wally of being a skinhead! And you once built up so much static electricity that you killed a man when he dared walk past you!

    Rogue: I didn't kill him. He was 'downsized' due to a decrease in the budget.

    Caller: Really?
    Rogue: Yeah.

    Caller: When can you start?
    Rogue: Tomorrow. Oh, could you stop by my office and help me scratch this spot behind my ear? My fur is standing up on end again...

Obviously, you need to be familiar with Dilbert to get most of that, but oh well. I like Dilbert. I have a strip that has Catbert fighting Mordac (Preventor of Information Services), and it starts out with something that's reminiscent of DragonBall Z.

"Before you die, there is something that you should know about us, Lone Star."
"What?"
"I am your father's brother's newphew's cousin's former roommate."
"What does that make us?"
"Absolutely nothing!" - Dark Helmet and Lone Star, Spaceballs.

Previous / Next

Personal Log, 25 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-25
Personal Log, 24 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-24
Personal Log, 23 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-23
Personal Log, 22 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-22
Personal Log, 21 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-21

Site Meter

Please keep in mind that by viewing this site, you are bound by the Terms Of Viewing

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

POW/MIA

The Wall

Mgs2 Notes

Quotes

Memorial

Nicki BMT Updates

Linking

Diaryland