in the valley of darkness

in the shadows of the night

rising from the ashes of humanity

he lives for honor

THE REALM OF THE ROGUE MARINE

Recent

Older

Alt Entries

Sign/View

Notes

Email

Honors

Profile

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
2001-12-25 / 1:10 p.m.
How I Remember Christmas

Greetings,

I realize that most of you will be reading this after you've had your big Christmas dinners and after you've unwrapped your gifts. For those of you who haven't, I ask that you take a moment to read this poem, and keep in you hearts and minds those who are away from their families and on the ground in Bosnia, Afghanistan, on a submarine in the Pacific, or on a carrier in the Mediterranian Sea, or in any one of the many countries where past and present Presidents have sent our soldiers. The first reading is a poem titled 'On Christmas Day All Is Secure', and the second is from Father D.E. O'Brien. I got these off of Hackworth.com, which is a site I recommend for anyone who's concerned about our military.

On Christmas Day, All Is Secure

'Twas the night before Christmas, he lived alone
In a one bedroom house made of plaster and stone.

I had come down the chimney with presents to give
And to see who in this house did live.

I looked all about, a strange sight did I see,
No tinsel, no presents, not even a tree.

No stockings by the mantle, just boots filled with sand,
On the wall hung pictures of far distand lands.

With medals and badges, awards of all kinds,
A sober thought came through my mind.

For this house was different, it was dark and dreary.
I found the home of a soldier, once I could see clearly.

The soldier lay sleeping, silent, alone,
Curled up on the floor in this one bedroom home.

The face was so gentle, the room in such disorder,
Not how I pictured a United States soldier.

Was this the hero of whom I'd just read?
Curled up in a poncho, the floor for a bed?

I realized the families that I saw this night
Owed their lives to these soldiers who were willing to fight.

Soon round the world, the children would play,
And grownups would celebrate a bright Christmas day.

They all enjoyed freedom each month of the year
Because of the soldiers, like the one lying here.

I couldn't help wonder how many lay alone
On a cold Christmas Eve in a land far from home.

The very thought brought a tear to my eye,
I dropped to my knees and started to cry.

The soldier awakened and I heard a rough voice,
"Santa don't cry, this life is my choice;

I fight for freedom, I don't ask for more,
My life is my god, my country, my Corps."

The soldier rolled over and drifted to sleep,
I couldn't control it, I continued to weep.

I kept watch for hours, so silent and still
And we both shivered from the cold night's chill.

I didn't want to leave on that cold, dark night
This guardian of honor so willing to fight.

Then the soldier rolled over, with a voice soft and pure,
Whispered "Carry on, Santa, It's Christmas, all is secure."

One look at my watch, and I knew he was right,
Merry Christmas my friend, and to all a good night.

- Major Bruce Lovely, U.S. Army, adapted from a similar poem, Anonymous

Words From Father D.E. O'Brien

"It is the soldier, not the poet,
Who gives us freedom of speech.

It is the soldier, not the reporter,
Who gives us freedom of the press.

It is the soldier, not the campus organizer,
Who gives us freedom to protest.

It is the soldier who serves beneath the flag,
Who salutes the flag, and whose coffin is drapped by the flag,
Who gives the demonstrator the right to burn the flag."

I hope you remember all of those who've served, who've died, and who've never been heard from again, who so willingly sacrificed himself so that we may enjoy another Christmas, free from the oppression of a tyrannical power. I know I will.

"We've inhereted freedom from all of those who've fought for it. We all have the freedom to spread the word, even me." - Solid Snake, talking to Raiden, Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty

Previous / Next

Personal Log, 25 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-25
Personal Log, 24 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-24
Personal Log, 23 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-23
Personal Log, 22 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-22
Personal Log, 21 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-21

Site Meter

Please keep in mind that by viewing this site, you are bound by the Terms Of Viewing

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

POW/MIA

The Wall

Mgs2 Notes

Quotes

Memorial

Nicki BMT Updates

Linking

Diaryland