in the valley of darkness

in the shadows of the night

rising from the ashes of humanity

he lives for honor

THE REALM OF THE ROGUE MARINE

Recent

Older

Alt Entries

Sign/View

Notes

Email

Honors

Profile

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
2002-03-18 / 9:30 p.m.
The Aftermath

�Hey Angie,
Okay, if tower wants to know, I was off the phones from like 2:30 until around 3:20 I think. How did I do?�

�Outstanding!!! I was a bit nervous at first...but I think it went great....and you????�

�I was about as nervous as my wife must have been on our wedding day. I think it went well. They were paying attention and laughed at my jokes. Think we might do it again?�

�Yes.....yes....yes....�

Greetings everyone. That was the substance of the talk I had with Angie in the aftermath of my speech today, not of some group sex ordeal like I know some of you sick and twisted people were thinking. I tell you what, there was a lot of pressure on me today.

I didn�t get to sleep this morning until around 3:00, and then I woke up when the alarm went off at 4:40, which was really meant to wake Nicki up so that she could get ready for her trip. She quickly got up and put me back to bed, saying she�d get me up before she left. I woke up again around 5:15 I think. It might have been 5:30, I�m not sure. Anyways, I woke up around the time Sara arrived to get Nicki. I got up, and while Sara was moving everything into the Exploder, I got to spend a few more moments with Nicki. We hugged, but I really didn�t want to let go. I guess I�m really the eternal pessimist. Before Nicki left though, she did get to check out the new layout, and said she really liked it. Witchy told me she liked it, but thought it might seem too short to others. To me, of course, it looks just spiffy. I�m going to play around with changing the color scheme to red tones here soon and see how it looks.

After Nicki left, I promptly went back to bed and woke up at 10:40 to prep for my speech. God, I was really sweating it. I felt that Angie was putting her neck on the line to help me stand out, and I wanted to make sure that I didn�t disappoint. I found my nice looking long sleeve fleece-sweater pull-over, and wore that with a white t-shirt and my clean black jeans. I also made sure that my short hair looked nice and all. I left early and arrived around 1:45 P.M. to run some of the portions of my speech by Angie. I remember my college classes in speaking, and one of the best ways to connect with an audience is to tell a funny joke. I wanted to tell two jokes, and when Angie read them she laughed at both, but she made me take one of them away because we both agreed that there might have been problems with one. Here�s the one she had me take out:

President Bush, recently concerned about the rise of terrorism around the world, decided that he needs a law enforcement agency that he can tote around as the best. He had the CIA, FBI, and LAPD come to the White House, where he laid them out the task of being the agency to find a rabbit that he's released into a nearby forest the fastest. The CIA immediately investigates. After interviewing all the plants, mineral, and animal life, they conclude that the rabbit does not exist. The FBI burns down the forest, since the rabbit deserved it anyways. The LAPD goes in to investigate, and two hours later the come out smiling, holding a raccoon by it's tail. The raccoon is bruised, bloody, and screaming "Okay, okay! I'm a rabbit!�

I really liked that one, but again, it might have offended someone. Personally, I think that people ought to be mature enough to be able to brush off glancing shots at their race/religion/whatever, and this really isn�t that bad of a joke. But again, SOMEONE is sure to exist ONLY to FIND ways to be offended, so we cut it. Instead, I used this one:

I am a medical student currently doing a rotation in toxicology at the poison control center. Today, this woman called in very upset because she caught her little daughter eating ants. I quickly reassured her that the ants are not harmful and there would be no need to bring her daughter into the hospital. She calmed down, and at the end of the conversation happened to mention that she gave her daughter some ant poison to eat in order to kill the ants. I told her that she better bring her daughter into the Emergency room right away.

Not quite as funny, but it worked. It also helped that I can naturally speak well from a semi-prepared speech, and sacking my ego for the sake of a few jokes helped. I�ll probably be doing this again another time, thanks to me opening my big mouth. Someone please send me a manual on how to shove my boot into it the next time I start suggesting good ideas to HR.

Witchy was writing in her journal today that she feels that she and I are the only ones doing the review work at Rogue Reviews. TranceJen did send me four reviews through the weekend I think, but my inbox is so full right now that I�m sure that it�s still sitting there unopened. I�ll be working on them this morning, but I have to go back early again to do a shift-bid, where I get to choose a new shift from a list of available shifts. Since I�ve got some seniority there, I�m ranked #20 out of 62, so I�ll probably get what I want. Now I just gotta get my butt out of bed in time to go pick my shift.

Hmm�just got the message from Nicki saying that they made it to Michelle�s place in Denver around 6:45, their destination. Nicki also mentioned that my sister is either really tired, or the mudslides she�s been drinking are really kicking in. Oh well. Sara�s a big girl, and at least she waited until they got into town. For now, though, the bed calls me. I�m seriously starting to write again in the upcoming Alternate Entry. It seriously hasn�t been abandoned, it�s just that I�ve ran my car into the writer�s block.

Time is short and talk is cheap. We shall speak again.

Previous / Next

Personal Log, 25 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-25
Personal Log, 24 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-24
Personal Log, 23 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-23
Personal Log, 22 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-22
Personal Log, 21 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-21

Site Meter

Please keep in mind that by viewing this site, you are bound by the Terms Of Viewing

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

POW/MIA

The Wall

Mgs2 Notes

Quotes

Memorial

Nicki BMT Updates

Linking

Diaryland