in the valley of darkness

in the shadows of the night

rising from the ashes of humanity

he lives for honor

THE REALM OF THE ROGUE MARINE

Recent

Older

Alt Entries

Sign/View

Notes

Email

Honors

Profile

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
2002-03-08 / 11:10 p.m.
Adventures In A Vacation - The LAN Party

Greetings,

I�m writing this around 7:30 A.M. from The Worx Online. Right now I�ve made it about half-way through the all-night LAN party. I needed to take a break and write about yesterday since it was kind of an adventure. Like I said in my last entry, I only lasted until 5:30 A.M. Friday morning, and that kinda dug in to my sleep time. I got up around 10:30, but my body sure didn�t want to let me get up. The temperatures outside were still in the sub-zero�s, so the car had to warm up for like 20 minutes or so. We got the checks, and I also dropped off a copy of the first issue of the company newsletter, which I finished up yesterday, onto my friend Angie�s desk. She seemed to like it, but since my printer likes to smudge the ink, even when you clean the cartridges, I need someone else to print it. When we find such a victim, we�ll be set.

Nicki did laundry this afternoon while I took my nap. I went to sleep around two, and woke up around six I think. I took a shower, got changed, all that jazz. I finished prep work on the computer around seven, and I let Nicki finish up whatever she needed to do. Rico came over around nine, and we all went out and got Subway sandwiches for dinner. We came home, and then Nicki and I played Need for Speed: High Stakes on my PS2 for a bit. She�s actually pretty good at that game for someone with negligible gaming experience.

When I reserved the slots here for Rico and I at the Worx, I was under the impression that Rico wanted to bring his computer here as well. Wrong. I didn�t realize this until we check the Worx�s webpage and saw that this LAN party was sold out. Rico called down here and confirmed that, so we had to go back to his house and make off with his computer. Turns out that his mom had plans to use it this morning, so I had to apologize (read: bow down) for that inconvenience. Oh well. At least I walked out of there alive.

One kid here, in addition to bringing his own PC, brought in a 5-speaker sound system. I�m wondering where he�s at since I haven�t seen him in about four hours now. Oh, and we fixed a problem with Rico�s computer. For internet and LAN gaming, computers rely on two different protocols, or languages so to speak, called TCP/IP, which is for Internet gaming, and IPX, which is for LANs. About 95% of the games use the TCP/IP protocol, but some games have to rely on the IPX protocol, and it turns out that Rico was missing his IPX drivers. Consequently, he couldn�t connect to some of the games going on here. Matt, the guy who owns The Worx, and myself fixed his PC of that one, so it�s all good now.

The gaming here has been really rough. I�ve been playing against people who eat, sleep, and breathe Counter Strike, not Weekend Warriors such as Rico and myself. We handled ourselves pretty well, but it was a challenge to just break even on a kills to deaths ratio. Rico and I played a little one-on-one on Aliens vs. Predator 2, but that gets boring after a while when only two of you have the program. That didn�t help my energy levels really, since I�m running on a four-hour nap, and my body seems to neutralize Mt. Dew. *Yawn And I�m hoping to be able to stay up long enough tonight to at least get my body back on schedule. Nicki was worried about not being able to get up at nine, so I�ll probably call her. It at least gives me a goal to reach. Anywho, time for me to get up and walk around. I�ll write more about this later.

Time is short and talk is cheap. We shall speak again.

Previous / Next

Personal Log, 25 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-25
Personal Log, 24 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-24
Personal Log, 23 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-23
Personal Log, 22 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-22
Personal Log, 21 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-21

Site Meter

Please keep in mind that by viewing this site, you are bound by the Terms Of Viewing

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

POW/MIA

The Wall

Mgs2 Notes

Quotes

Memorial

Nicki BMT Updates

Linking

Diaryland