in the valley of darkness

in the shadows of the night

rising from the ashes of humanity

he lives for honor

THE REALM OF THE ROGUE MARINE

Recent

Older

Alt Entries

Sign/View

Notes

Email

Honors

Profile

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
2002-02-24 / 11:59 p.m..
Flying Through Ansteriod Field At Warp-Speed Because Of The TIE's Chasing Me. Whee!

Greetings,

Damn, I was too damn busy to post an entry. Well, Rico and I played some Counter-Strike after posting my entry, but he and I couldn�t play all that well. I was still too distracted from my near-accident, he was still stick with food poisoning, and there was this major hacker playing. I think he had one of the more �serious� cheats called �ogc�, which gives a player wall-hacking (see through walls), auto-aim (computer aims for him), and probably messes with the guy�s hit boxes (the portions of a character�s sprite that, if �hit�, tells the program to assign damage). One thing�s for sure, though: We didn�t stay there for very long. We just called it, then I posted my entry, and then went to bed.

Work was dead again, so I got more reading done on my A+ Certification book today. I talked with one of the guys at the Computer Help Desk, who is A+ Certified, and asked him what the test was like. He told me that it assumes that you know A LOT about hardware, software, and the different Windows versions. Ugh. This won�t be pretty. Combine that with the fact that a couple people with the Naked Reviews group have been griping about me not devoting my full attention to them. Well, back off. Rogue Reviews, ironically, is getting a little neglect to while I try to get certified. I�d love to work exclusively on both sites, but I don�t get paid for that work, and I need money to pay the bills. Therefore, I shall devote my energies to that which enables me to survive. I haven�t even written much in my book for almost two weeks now because of it. That of course doesn�t mean that I�m going to shrink in my duties. It just means that they�re both going to have to wait for me to make the time for them.

Anyways, at Rogue Reviews, we got our first Option Three review done. That�s where three reviewers review one diary, and their grand totals are averaged together to get the final score. Mach 5 did amazingly well with a final score of 97. We almost gave him a 100, but he scored a 98, 96, and 97. Which obviously means his site rocks, of course. I suppose that�s the purpose of getting an Option Three: To make sure that the review just didn�t go gaga over your site. Call it a gut-check, I suppose.

Oh, and it looks like I got reviewed by both Ajj Reviews and Cool Reviews. At CR, I got a 100 score, and Ajj I got a 93. Problem is, Ajj never bothered to tell me that they reviewed me on the 19th. Hmmmm�..Laziness on their part? Maybe. I can forgive though. Since I scored high, that is. :P

I also did some digging around with the old columns I used to write for my old homepage. Thought I�d share this one:

The Meaning Of Life
Date: 08/18/01 22:42 MST
Author: The Rogue Marine

The meaning of life has many different meanings for many different people. For example, many people would find many definitions for the word "meaning". The Merriam-Webster On-Line dictionary defines �Meaning� as

    1 a: to have in the mind as a purpose: INTEND -- sometimes used interjectionally with I, chiefly in informal speech for emphasis or to introduce a phrase restating the point of a preceding phrase
    b: to design for or destine to a specified purpose or future
    2: to serve or intend to convey, show, or indicate:
    SIGNIFY 3: to have importance to the degree of
    4: to direct to a particular individual intransitive senses: to have an intended purpose.

This leads us to conclude that "meaning", along with "it", "sexual relations", "inhaling", and "woman", all have different meanings for different people. This also serves to explain the diversity of our great world society lives in today. This of course now leads us to the pressing issue in today's society, which is:

The Meaning of Life

It's meaning has several different explanations. For example, Meatloaf said in one of his songs "What's the Meaning of Life, what's the meaning of it all? Forget the questions, someone give me another beer." We can look at this another way. Could beer have something to do with the meaning of life? What brand of beer would have a direct impact on it? What country was the beer made in? Who is the spokesman for the brand? Why do the Budweiser Frogs come to mind when someone say "Bud", "Weis", and "Er"? Why does Budweiser have the frogs an occasional ferret and two lizards? Why frogs? Why a ferret? Why use two lizards to promote beer? Why not a depiction of a certain United States President smoking a cigar and "feeling" the "pain" of several lap dancers? Why not a doped up monkey pushing a wheel barrel? Why not a sheepdog with a barrel of alcohol around it's neck wandering the wilderness looking for teens who�ve run out of beer? To answer this, we must go back and find out

The Meaning of Life

To find out this, we must deduce why it hasn't been discovered before now. People who practice Christianity, Islam, and Judaism believe in one supreme God, who is the know-all end-all to all things big and small. Yes, perhaps we need to have a sit-down chat with him. Only it wouldn't be such a nice chat. You see, He would also have to explain why He let's all the slow drivers be in front of us in traffic. Why does He let all the annoying people sit next to me on all the airplanes, and try to talk to you about the different versions of Linux while you try to retreat to the bathroom. Why does He let all the people with 50 items get away with getting service in the Express Lane! Don't try to deny who you people are! We know where you live! We're coming to get you! We are coming to take you away! We will use your guts to grease the treads of our tanks! We will know what you know! WHAT IS THE FREQUENCY, KENNETH! WHAT IS THE MEANING OF LIFE! WHAT IS THE CAPITAL OF TURKEY! WE HAVE WAYS OF MAKING YOU TALK! But now that I've mentioned it, we should explore

The Meaning of Life

Perhaps history may yield us clues. Perhaps William Shakespear made a point in Romeo and Juliet. We all know that back then guns, jocks, hoods, and Leonardo DiCaprio didn't exist. However, everyone did speak English and yet no one else could really understand what was said. So in haste, while William was preparing the debut of his grand literary masterpiece, which even today provides many young, fertile minds with endless hours of sleep, a young stagehand by the name of Fred (although backstage his buddies commonly referred to him by his stable-boy name, Back Door Bob), came up to the master and said "Yo! Old ma'an! We don't have pieces, yo! How are we gonna bustacap in some asses without pistolas!" Astonished William replied "Me hablo no Englas!" Forced to improvise, the young stagehand borrowed several swords from a nearby Ye Olde Sword Shoppe and thus managed to somewhat resurrect the play. And of course, William Shakespear went on to bigger and better things, and was planning to do a sequal with Fred, now that he understood what the hell Fred was saying, but Fred, sadly, was eviscerated by the Shoppe owner when he failed to return one of the swords. Plus everyone knew that the original play was a flop, because they had to deal with then-B movie actors Sean Connery, Alec Guiness, and Rosie O'Donnel. Plus no one got to, nor wanted to, make love to the woman in the end, so it had no modern-day sex appeal. Since this has nothing really to do with the topic at hand, let's discover together

The Meaning of Life

To be perfectly honest, I have no idea what it is. Frankly, I'd say it involves beer and lap dancers.

�Daschle said he doesn't want 'to Enron' the American people, but he sure as hell is happy to 'O.J.' the stimulus package and economy while giving a 'Lewinsky' to liberals and people who don't pay income taxes." � Rush Limbaugh

Previous / Next

Personal Log, 25 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-25
Personal Log, 24 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-24
Personal Log, 23 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-23
Personal Log, 22 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-22
Personal Log, 21 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-21

Site Meter

Please keep in mind that by viewing this site, you are bound by the Terms Of Viewing

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

POW/MIA

The Wall

Mgs2 Notes

Quotes

Memorial

Nicki BMT Updates

Linking

Diaryland