in the valley of darkness

in the shadows of the night

rising from the ashes of humanity

he lives for honor

THE REALM OF THE ROGUE MARINE

Recent

Older

Alt Entries

Sign/View

Notes

Email

Honors

Profile

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
2002-01-25 / 10:30 p.m.
Stupid Work Policies

Greetings,

I meant to write about my day yesterday, but it so slow and uneventful that it really wasn't worth it, except that I finally got my reviews done from Star Reviews, and they rated me at 97. Right on.

Doug did respond to my posting yesterday, but since it's a done-and-over with issue, I'm not going to pursue it. If he can't understand the beliefs that I clearly stated in yesterday's entry, then it's a shame. For someone who's 27 years of age, I expected much more maturity and depth, but as with some adults, they do not completely leave childhood behind as they grow up. Dream Reviews has reviewed that diary as well, but they have yet to get my review done. And I do review work for them. I've been advised that mine is to be assigned soon, but I'm considering suspending my work until it is done. I get ym reviews done with generally 24 hours after I've been assigned to do it, since I know how it is to have to wait weeks for them to get done. Granted the majority of reviewers are in school, but I would appreciate a faster turnaround, or at least an update on where I stand in the pecking order.

Speaking of reviews, today I got my reviews back from Bop-Reviews and My Reviews. Bop reviews awarded me 98 points, and I seemed to have found a new fan in the reviewer. However, My-Reviews didn't seem to agree with the military slant that she finds in my writing, and awarded me 85. Oh well. She says that she reviews entirely on content and lets no personal bias creep into it, but based on her comments I find it unlikely. Still, it could be just irked that she gave me the lowest score of all my reviews, but when she says that I talk about guns alot and provides a link to her example, I'd appreciate it if she actually got the link right.

Work on my book still progresses slowly. I posted an exerpt of it on Alternate Entry 9, if you wish to read it. I've completed the first two chapters of it, but while it takes me days to write them, it takes about twice as much time to go over it and correct all the misspellings, inconsistencies, reword sentances, and the like. Fortunately, Witch Medic is giving me some tech advice on it, and so far the information she's given me has helped greatly, and caused me to rewrite a whole section in my first chapter.

I also started playing Final Fantasy VIII again on my PS2, which originally came out for the Playstation One, back I think in 1998 or 99. I know Jedi Tera would know for sure. I had the game spaz out on me during one fight though. The colors went off-key, and after I had lost the fight, the game locked up. I reset my console, and redid the fight, and everything was fine. Odd.

Work put out a new policy that we're not allowed to play card games or anything like that between calls. This doesn't really hurt the morning people, but us night-shift people are pretty much left high and dry. My friends Melissa, Teri, and I can no longer play our Deadlands role-playing game. Basically, you're only allowed to either read a book or cross-stitch. (that was a direct quote from the email announcing this policy, by the way) Needless to say, this has caused a major uproar among the night staff in a 24-hour a day call center, and especially set me off. My supervisor, who normally just sits there and does nothing all day, is backing up our efforts to get the policy revised, which says alot for a supervisor who usually has the motivation of a slug. We also acquire paid sick-hours for working at this company, and we could use it if we were sick, still get paid, and not be penalized. On the 16th of this month, they came out with a new rule saying that you can use this time, but calling in sick will start counting against you, even when you have the sick time. If you hav eperfect attendance, you get one (that's right ONE) free day of vacation taht won't count against you. More typical company bullshit from people who've forgotten what it's like to be a grunt, having to work one or sometimes two jobs to support yourself and you family. I swear, if I had one day as the company boss, I'd be reversing this crap.

Anyways, I have to get back to my proofreading, or I'll keep slacking and it'll never get done.

"Necessity is the mother of invention." - Solid Snake/Iroquois Pliskin, Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty

Previous / Next

Personal Log, 25 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-25
Personal Log, 24 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-24
Personal Log, 23 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-23
Personal Log, 22 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-22
Personal Log, 21 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-21

Site Meter

Please keep in mind that by viewing this site, you are bound by the Terms Of Viewing

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

POW/MIA

The Wall

Mgs2 Notes

Quotes

Memorial

Nicki BMT Updates

Linking

Diaryland