in the valley of darkness

in the shadows of the night

rising from the ashes of humanity

he lives for honor

THE REALM OF THE ROGUE MARINE

Recent

Older

Alt Entries

Sign/View

Notes

Email

Honors

Profile

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
2002-02-06 / 4:12 a.m.
A Memo On Truth Reviews

Greetings,

Okay, Liz didn't get my point yetserday when I discussed the review of my site conducted by Truth Reviews, as demonstarted by her posting in my guestbook. She felt that I was truly distressed by it. First of all, it's a score of 60 among a pool of 100's and 90's. It didn't bother me much, and I was ready to let it go in lieu of the posting of the next segment of my book. I know that not everyone doesn't like my site, otherwise my site meter would have a number so high it'd be undisplayable. I also know that the reviewer, Kevin Hearn, is hiding behind a shield of near-anonymity by not even posting his screen name on the Truth Reviews site, which tells me that he's not willing to back up his reviews. I applaud him, however, on his turn-around time. I gladly take the heat for any review that I've conducted. I welcome it. I tried locating his diary, if he has one, so that I could get his perspective on things, and possibly implement changes to this diary. Obviously he found something else wrong with my design, because in that category, I scored lower than someone using a D-land template. Since I couldn't locate his diary, I was forced to conclude that he feared that someone might ask him why he felt the way he did, and instead of standing up for himself, is being a coward. Again, I have no problem taking criticism, and I even did request the review. Just because I did, though, doesn't mean that I just stand there and let him have his way with me. I only wished to find out exactly why he felt the way he did, but he's "pulling a Ken Lay" and dodging the flak.

Based on some of the comments made in his review, I came away with the impression that he finds regular entries about a person who works his butt of to support himself and his wife boring. I also noted that a truly good reviewer does not base his review on personal emotion, but on the big picture overall. plaidallstar has writing that I don't totally agree with, but it is great writing when I factor out my own personal bias. Same with Ramanda.

I've reveiwed several diaries, such as ilovedorks and plaidallstar, who both have layouts that I personally don't like, but, on the whole, they are great-looking, just something that I would not choose. That is, when you again factor out my bias, which is obviously not what Mr. Hearn did when he said "(my) design is truly ugly."

Again, however, I will give him credit where it is due. He did mention that all my links work, and didn't have a problem with my diary's design. He eve did something that Dream Reviews, Mess Reviews, and Rawk Reviews seem incapable of: Actually getting a review of this site done!

If he didn't like it, oh well. If people prefer his style of reviews, then he'll survive the test of time, won't he? And If I'm such a crackhead no-nothing who has nothing better to do with his time, then I guess I won't pass that test. This reminds me of the ethics debate I had with Doug not but a few weeks ago. He and I talked over email after a few entries that I posted. I understand and respect his point of view. I hold no grudge against him, but, of course, I feel he's misguided, and I'm sure he feels the same way about me.

To sum it up, Metallica said it best in the song Through The Never; "Judge not, lest thee be judged yourself."

Oh, and I did post another segment of my book. You may read it by clicking here. It's Alternate Entry 11.

"And that's the memo," as Bill O'Reilly would say.

Previous / Next

Personal Log, 25 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-25
Personal Log, 24 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-24
Personal Log, 23 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-23
Personal Log, 22 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-22
Personal Log, 21 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-21

Site Meter

Please keep in mind that by viewing this site, you are bound by the Terms Of Viewing

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

POW/MIA

The Wall

Mgs2 Notes

Quotes

Memorial

Nicki BMT Updates

Linking

Diaryland