in the valley of darkness

in the shadows of the night

rising from the ashes of humanity

he lives for honor

THE REALM OF THE ROGUE MARINE

Recent

Older

Alt Entries

Sign/View

Notes

Email

Honors

Profile

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
2001-12-01 / 8:06 p.m.
A Conflict That I Do Not Envy

Greetings,

Last night I got to spend some quality time with my fiancee. Her diary had some concerns about our upcoming marriange on it a couple days ago, and I'm working on talking to her more and more often about any concerns she may have.

She called her parents last night to let them know that we plan on have a very small ceremony, hopefully at my parents place, and be wed by a family friend. Guests will be select and few in numbers, basically we're not going to make it an extravagant thing like some people do. We fell that, although it may be money well spent, it will also cost money that can be used elseware, like saving for schooling, a new computer, something that we may want. We're not shortchanging ourselves, we just feel that this may be a better use of our money for a one-time ceremony. We plan on holding in January, when my brother Matt, the driver of a light armor anti-tank vehicle for the 1st Marine Division stationed at Camp Pendleton, and her friend Charles, a submariner for the Navy, will both be in town and can attend. I explained to Nicki that we'll need a weapons-check at the door, since the instutional rivalry between the two services is legendary.

"Okay, Matt. I know you have a gun behind them Class A's. Fork it over."

"Come on bro, you know me! Would I stoop that low?"

"The reason why I know you have that gun is because I DO know you, brother."

*Matt sighs and pulls out the pistol in the small of his back and hands it over*

"Now the K-Bar Knife around your ankle."

"You're no fun."

Nicki's parents, once completely supportive of both of us, are now both against her impending union with yours truly. Let's not also forget that Nicki's parent's are long-divorced, and both have remarried. The step-parents back us up, but I can see the hurt in Nicki, knowing that her parents won't support her as she takes what is the biggest step in her lifetime. My parents support the both of us unconditionally, and I know that's got to be hurting Nicki even though it brings her closer to my folks.

Eventually she and I will present both set of parents grandkids, and I personally am not so sure I'd like to have them babysat by Nicki's folks. And I suppose that's what's bothering me the most. If I can't trust her parents to watch my kid, does that make me a bad person? You know, for being so smart, it's really easy to find yourself without an answer that solves the mystery.

Nicki and I will get married, and hold each other dear in sickness and health, for richer or for poorer, in good tiems and bad, for long as we both shall live, no matter what her parents think, since it's Nicki's life. I know she wants her parent's approval to bolster her confidence, but unfortunately, her parents aren't mature enough to porvide the support that they know she needs.

Time is short and talk is cheap. We shall speak again.

Previous / Next

Personal Log, 25 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-25
Personal Log, 24 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-24
Personal Log, 23 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-23
Personal Log, 22 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-22
Personal Log, 21 Apr 2004 - 2004-04-21

Site Meter

Please keep in mind that by viewing this site, you are bound by the Terms Of Viewing

Sign up here to be emailed when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

POW/MIA

The Wall

Mgs2 Notes

Quotes

Memorial

Nicki BMT Updates

Linking

Diaryland